Skip to contentSkip to Main Site NavigationSkip to Site Left NavigationSkip to Site Utility NavigationSkip to Site SearchSkip to FooterDownload Adobe Reader
Clubs & Organizations
Home » Campus Life » Clubs & Organizations » Current Student Organizations & Clubs
Print

CURRENT STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS & CLUBS

The research is clear: Getting involved OUTSIDE the classroom results in better performance INSIDE the classroom. Please see the list below for contact information for many active clubs on campus, or... START A NEW CLUB! For information on how to start/re-start a club, visit the Clubs & Organizations webpage.

ACTION CLUB
Advisors: Jim Tolbert, PH 644-7648
Meeting Time: 2nd and 4th Fridays, 1pm - 2pm
Purpose: To provide opportunities for the disabled people on campus, to not only socialize with others, but to aid our community through volunteer service.         
Email: jim.tolbert@gcccd.edu 

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN (AAUW)
Advisor:  Sue Gonda, PH 644-7875
Meeting Time: Every 2nd and 4th Tuesday, 2:00pm - 3:30pm, Bldg. 55, Room 528
Purpose: To empower the diverse women of Grossmont College by providing opportunities for them to engage in purposeful conversations about women's issues, participate in community service and workshops which help them develop applicable skills and build a network of uplifting peers. 
Email: sue.gonda@gcccd.edu

AMERICAN CRIMINAL JUSTICE ASSOCIATION (ACJA)
Advisor:  Sharon Sampson, PH 644-7958
Meeting Time: 1st Fri/month, 6:00pm, Bldg. 51, Room 575
Purpose: The purpose of this club shall be to promote and enhance members’ knowledge of the criminal justice field and professionalism in the field by providing educational and networking activities. 
Email: sharon.sampson@gcccd.edu 

AMSA AT GROSSMONT COLLEGE
Advisors: Taneisha Hellon, PH 644-7208         
Meeting Time: 1st and 3rd Friday of the Month; 1:00 - 2:00 pm; Bldg 36, Room 320
Purpose: To foster a community of future physicians by providing outstanding resources, education, and guidance to pre-medical students so that they may become leaders and excellent role models for future physicians-in-training. We seek to foster our philosophy of diversity and community service in pre-medical students whilst bringing awareness to the social, moral and ethical obligations of the profession of medicine. 
Email: taneisha.hellon@gcccd.edu
Website: https://amsagc.wixsite.com/amsa 

THE ANIME CLUB
Advisor: Anne Teachout, PH 644-7386
Meeting Time: Wednesdays, 12:30pm
Purpose: To form a community and space for students who love and are interested in anime to come together and feel welcome. Club email: animeclub.gcc@gmail.com 
Email: anne.teachout@gcccd.edu

ARABIC CLUB
Advisors:  Sonia Ghattas-Soliman, PH 644-7348
               Yousra Qudeimat, PH 644-7454 x3460
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 4:30pm, Griffin Center 
Purpose: To promote Arab culture and provide a community to practice Arabic culture. 
Email: sonia.ghattassoliman@gcccd.edu; yousra.qudeimat@gcccd.edu


CALIFORNIA NURSING STUDENTS' ASSOCIATION (CNSA)
Advisors: Sarah Babini, PH 644-7450
              Judy Medina, PH 644-7061
Meeting Time: 8/27/18, 9/24/18, 10/22/18, 11/19/18 11:00am-12:00pm, Bldg. 34, Room 201
Purpose: To lead by example, creating a statewide community of politically conscious, technologically savvy, and socially aware nursing students.  California Nursing Students' Association fosters the transition of the student to the role of the professional nurse through the development of leadership, activism, and advocacy.   California Nursing Students' Association supports scholarship, volunteerism, and mentorship to influence nursing education and nursing care in California.
Email: sarah.babini@gcccd.edu ; judy.medina@gcccd.edu

CALWORKS CLUB
Advisors: Gabrielle Gosselin, PH 644-7785
              Gerardette Nutt, PH 644-7785
Meeting Time: Mondays, 1:00pm, Griffin Center
Purpose: To support students who are striving to create a better future by pushing to achieve their academic goal. CalWORKs Club wants to provide productive activities for students and their families which means collaborating and promoting advocacy with our college and community and support one another as they go on their educational journey.
Email: gabrielle.gosselin@gcccd.edu; gerardette.nutt@gcccd.edu 

CARDIOVASCULAR TECHNOLOGY CLUB (CVT) 2020
Advisor: Liz Barrow, PH 644-7895
Meeting Time: Mondays, 11am, Bldg. 34, Room 262
Purpose: The purpose of this organization shall be to unify the CVT Class of 2019 and to organize fundraisers and product sales for a graduation celebration.
Email: liz.barrow@gcccd.edu

CARDIOVASCULAR TECHNOLOGY CLUB (CVT) 2021
Advisor: Liz Barrow, PH 644-7895
Meeting Time: Contact advisor for meeting dates and times.
Purpose: The purpose of this organization shall be to unify the CVT Class of 2020 and to organize fundraisers and product sales for a graduation celebration.
Email: liz.barrow@gcccd.edu
     

                          
CHINESE CLUB
Advisor: Claire Liu, PH 644-7454 x3546 
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 4:30pm, Bldg. 53, Room 555B
Purpose: To expose the community to the Chinese culture and learn Chinese language in a fun, constructive environment. We also have a mission to stay up-to-date with the events and policies in China that develops a new sense of national identity and place in the world.
Email: claire.liu@gcccd.edu

CIRCLE K CLUB
Advisor: Sarah Martin  
Meeting Time: 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month, 7:00 pm, Bldg. 55, Room 527
Purpose: Inspire people to better our world and provide constructive opportunities for students to become involved on their campuses and communities through service work to others in need. Circle K members have the chance to work with fellow students, children in the community, and other adults in need of special programs.
Email: sarah.martin@gcccd.edu

DREAMERS MOVEMENT CLUB
Advisors: Susan Berry, PH 644-7236
              Gabriela Soto, PH 668-1726
Meeting Time: Wednesdays, 10:00am, Common Ground, Bldg. 60, Room 206
Purpose: The Dreamers Movement student organization aspires to educate, support and guide students who have faced academic and personal hardships due to their AB540/undocumented status. Our organization will assist incoming, and currently enrolled students with their college transition and retention needs while also providing a supporting community for the development of student's necessary sense of belonging. Dreamers' Movement believes that education is a human right that should be guaranteed to all. We hope to advocate for such right for our AB540/undocumented community.
Email: susan.berry@gcccd.edu; gabriela.soto@gcccd.edu 


FUTURE BROADCASTERS OF AMERICA
Advisors: Ruth Eggett, PH 644-7465
              Evan Wiring, PH 644-7465
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 11:00am, Bldg. 20, Room 212
Purpose: To educate and train students in the ways of radio and broadcast communication via Griffin Radio.
Email: ruth.eggett@gcccd.edu; evan.wirig@gcccd.edu

GERMAN CLUB
Advisor: Astrid Ronke, PH 644-7454 x3888
Meeting Time: Contact club advisor for meeting dates and times.
Purpose: To provide a fun and welcoming atmosphere where people can feel comfortable to express their interest in the German language and culture.
Email: astrid.ronke@gcccd.edu

GRIFFIN GAMERS
Advisor: Joseph Shoopack
Meeting Time:  Fridays, 12:30pm, Bldg. 55, Room 530
Purpose: To provide a platform for students to discuss, compete, debate, socialize and play various games. We will also host events and tournaments to gain funds for the club.
Email: joseph.shoopack@gcccd.edu

GRIFFIN STUDENT PRODUCTIONS
Advisor: Robert Lacher
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 9:30pm, Bldg. 70, Room 253
To facilitate the production of student made movies, films, videos and media at Grossmont College. Also to increase collaboration between and and all departments at Grossmont College and students interested in the media arts.
Email: robert.lacher@gcccd.edu 

INDIVISIBLE CLUB
Advisors: Michele Perchez, PH 644-7335
               Gary Waayers, PH 644-7454 X3718
Meeting Time: Mondays, 4:00pm - 5:00pm, ASGC Clubs Room
Purpose: To promote social and political student engagement and to cultivate youth leadership.  The Indivisible team at Grossmont College achieves this through organizing educational and political awareness events that allow students to become more involved in the political process. 
Email: michele.perchez@gcccd.edu; gary.waayers@gcccd.edu      

INTERNATIONAL CLUB
Advisors: Bryan Lam, PH 644-7209
              Jessica Silva, PH 644-7226
Meeting Time: Fridays at 11:00am in ASGC Board Room, Bldg. 60, Room 207
Purpose: The purpose of the club shall be to provide a forum for the interaction of American and International students, to promote cultural enhancement of all students through social, cultural and educational events and activities and to assist new students in adapting to college life on campus and beyond.
Email: bryan.lam@gcccd.edu
Email: gstinterclub@yahoo.com 
Website: http://www.grossmont.edu/student-services/applyenroll/internationalstudents/international-club/default.aspx

THE JAPANESE CLUB
Advisors: Keiko Ito, PH 644-7454 X3504
             Elham Hussaini, PH 644-7468
Meeting Time: Tuesdays and Thursdays 12:45 - 1:45, contact advisor for location. 
Purpose: To expose and introduce students to Japanese culture and tradition. Moreover, to promote friendship and encourage the diversity of the Grossmont College Community.
Email: keiko.ito@gcccd.edu 

LE CERCLE FRANCAIS (The French Club)
Advisor: Jean-Claude Beauville, PH 644-7000
Meeting Time: TBD
Purpose: To promote French/Francophone culture and language and to provide students with an increased awareness of Francophone culture, food, film in France, the Francophone world and our own community.
Email: jean.beauville@gcccd.edu


ORTHOPEDIC TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM
Advisors: Amanda Robbins, PH 644-7795
              Chris Rice, PH 644-7795
Meeting Time: Meetings will be held in the Health Building, contact advisors for dates and times.
Purpose: To give our students all the tools and knowledge to succeed in life as an orthopedic technician.
Email: amanda.robbins@gcccd.edu; chris.rice@gcccd.edu

PHI THETA KAPPA
Advisors: Catherine Sayre
              Alan Traylor, PH 644-7507
Meeting Time: Fridays, 2:30pm, Bldg. 36, Room 329
Purpose: To promote scholarship, the development of leadership and service and the cultivation of fellowship among qualified students of this college.
Email: catherine.sayre@gcccd.edu; alan.traylor@gcccd.ed    

THE PHOTOGRAPHY CLUB
Advisor: Michele Toral, PH 668-1760
Meeting Time: TBD
Purpose: To facilitate, host, and grow a community of photographers and creatives at Grossmont College. Additionally, we hope to help the members grow creatively and encourage them to pursue original ideas.
Email: michele.toral@gcccd.edu      

SCIENCE CLUB
Advisor: Jeff Lehman, PH 644-7341
Meeting Time: Fridays, 2:30-3:30pm, Bldg. 30 Rm. 250
Purpose: To reach out to students and broaden their knowledge and interest in science through fun-filled activities that positively impact the community.
Email: jeff.lehman@gcccd.edu

SISTAHOOD
Advisors: Lina Kearn, PH 644-7543
              Lida Rafia, PH 644-644-7770                                                                          Meeting Time: Tuesdays, 2pm-3pm, Common Ground                                                    To provide a safe environment where women of color can break stereotypes, embrace, empower and build a sisterhood.
Email: lina.kearn@gcccd.edu; lida.rafia@gcccd.edu 

SOGI - SEXUAL ORIENTATION/ GENDER IDENTITY CLUB 
Advisors: Sue Gonda, PH 644-7875
              Joel Castellaw, PH 644-7805

Meeting Time: 1st and 3rd Wednesdays, 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm - Common Ground Bldg 60, Rm. 206 and 2nd and 4th Tuesdays 11:00 am - 12:15 pm - Common Ground, Bldg. 60, Rm. 206
Purpose: To create a safe and open community and provide space for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, queer, intersexed, and asexual people (LGBTQIA) and their allies, as well as other students that identify as non-heteronormative. SOGI endeavors to create a safe space for students to express and explore their identity without judgment, where they can be their full authentic selves, and receive peer support.  
Email: sue.gonda@gcccd.edu; joel.castellaw@gcccd.edu  `

SPANISH CLUB
Advisor: Lina Davalos, PH 644-7000
Meeting Time: 10/22/18, 11/19/18, 12/5/18, 6:30-7:00pm
Purpose: Our aim is to arouse and enhance your interest in the diversity of Spanish speaking cultures, as well as develop a cultural appreciation of the traditions and customs of these cultures.
Email:  lina.davalos@gcccd.edu 

THE SYMPOSIUM AT GROSSMONT COLLEGE
Advisor: June Yang, PH 644-7274
Meeting Time: TBD
Purpose: To foster interest in and excitement about the study of Philosophy and Religious studies at Grossmont College, and beyond. 
Email: june.yang@gcccd.edu    

ZION BIBLE STUDY CLUB
Advisor:  Daniela Sow        
Meeting Time: Wednesdays, 5:30-6:340pm, Bldg. 53 Rm. 542
Purpose: To innovate and encourage students to become upstanding citizens; while also promoting leadership and humility.  We will use the power of the bible to reach brotherly and sisterly love, while doing volunteer events to help positively influence the school and the entire community as a whole.
Email: daniela.sow@gcccd.ecdu

Last Updated: 02/18/2020
  • GCCCD
  • Grossmont
  • Cuyamaca
A Member of the Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District