POST - PC 832 Laws of Arrest
*California Commission on Peace Officer's Standards and Training.
We expect to offer the PC 832 course again in January, 2022. Course offerings are
subject to change, so check website often for updates.
PC 832 Laws of Arrest - 40-hour course (one week format)
NEXT CLASS: TBD
8:00am-5:00pm, Monday - Friday
Approximate cost: $91, plus $2.00 per day for parking.
Registration: Please apply online now to become a student if you are not already a
student at Grossmont or Cuyamaca College.
Firearms - (TBD)
AOJ 101D FIREARMS FOR PC 832 (24-hours) - (TBD)
You must be at least 18 years of age to attend this course per California Penal Code
Sections 29615 and 29655. If you are under 18 years of age, you must have written
permission from a parent or legal guardian. Please contact the AOJ Department to obtain a waiver.
3 Saturdays Only (must attend all 3 days for credit)
All college fees must be paid for before the first day of class. All equipment is
required on the first day of class, as you will be at the range.
$23 + $21 health fee, $2 daily parking fee and $1.00 student fee*. Parking permit
needed for firearms half day on campus ($47 total). The following equipment will
need to be purchased by you:
- 450 rounds of .40 caliber ball ammunition (100 rounds needed the first day)
(Factory ammo only, No reloads, No lead!)
- Shooting glasses
- Hearing protection
- 12 targets (B-27 standard only - 24x45) standard black and white only (no colors)
- Cleaning kit
Those interested in firearms must download a background packet prior to enrolling.
DOJ clearance is date sensitive. Last date to submit DOJ is Dec. 2, 2019 and packet must be submitted to the AOJ office before 4:00PM on Dec.
18. Although no DOJ submission can be guaranteed returned in time for a course, this
gives DOJ a 5-week turn-around-time for clearances. However, if you decide to take
a chance for this course, Grossmont College or Grossmont College staff will not be
held liable for any delayed or denied clearance results or cancellation of class.
No student will be permitted on the range without a DOJ clearance.
If you already have PC 832, and need just the firearms course, you may take the firearms
only class by paying the required fees. Parking is required the first day only, for
*Student fees: $1 for student govt. fee per semester per student. If you are registered
in other classes you will not be assessed these fees again.
You may purchase daily parking permits for $2.00 per day instead of semester parking
permit if this is the only class you are taking on campus.
All prices are for Ca residents.
HOW TO APPLY:
Apply to the college first, then if interested in firearms, you must download a background
packet prior to enrolling. POST requires the DOJ clearance to be dated within 90 days
of the actual course. Letters dated earlier will be invalid and will require you to
re-submit your DOJ application.
We provide the firearm (Glock .40) & holster, but you must provide all other equipment.
You may use your own 9mm or .40 cal. firearm. All others must be approved. Please
note, any "1911 platform" weapon will not be allowed.
Applicants MUST NOT have any FELONY CONVICTIONS! In addition, you cannot have any Drug, Weapons, Assault or Domestic Violence convictions!
You are not eligible if you have a TRO (Temporary Restraining Order) relating to weapons,
assaults or domestic violence! Some psychological holds can also disqualify you from
taking this course.
For step-by-step instructions on how to enroll in our courses after your application
has been submitted, please open "Register on the internet". This is good for all classes,
just be sure to use the correct section number.
Please download this background packet (available Oct. 29) and complete the DOJ Live
Scan before Dec. 2, 2019, before 4:00PM. All packets must be submitted to the AOJ
office before 4:00PM on Dec. 18, as the college will be closed for the winter break.
The Grossmont College application must be completed first and your student ID# can
be obtained after the 24-hour processing time. Do not submit packet to the AOJ office
without a student ID#.
Walk-in Office Hours:
No student will be permitted on the range without a DOJ Clearance.
Register on the Internet
How to Register (after DOJ approval for firearms & academy courses)
Before you register for class, you must have an application with Grossmont College on file, and it takes 24 hours to process your application. If you are a returning
student, and have been absent for more than one year, you must re-apply to the college.
You can only register for classes at your registration date and time or after through your Self-Service account.
For the corrections academy, type AOJ-100 and corresponding letter A-D, or AOJ-101
and corresponding letter A-D.