Download Adobe Reader
Print

English Department Services & Programs

At the bottom of this page is an expandable directory of academic programs, committees, and services coordinated by English Department faculty. Each listing includes contact details and links to additional info.
For our Departmental faculty directory, visit "Instructors" in the menu at left.
 
English Department Chair
Dr. Oralee Holder, Chair
Dr. Oralee Holder
644-7496, office 52-564A | oralee.holder@gcccd.edu 
Dr. Oralee Holder began teaching at Grossmont College in 1985 and was later hired full-time in 1990. She received Grossmont's Teaching Excellence Award in 2006 and the President’s Leadership Award in 2010. She has been serving as English Department Chair since 2007.
 

Our Location

The offices of the English Department can be found in the northeast corner of the Grossmont College main campus. (See map below.) While the Reading Lab and its offices are on the north end of Building 53, the majority of our faculty keep offices next door, in Building 52. Some instructor offices, however, are located in Building 50-590, situated behind Building 52 at street level (down the breezeway's back staircase). The English Writing Center and the offices of its English instructors are in Building 70, in northeast corner of the Learning and Technology Resource Center's Tech Mall. For additional help in finding these locations, see "Useful Maps." 



Building 52
8800 Grossmont College Drive
El Cajon, California 92020
Building 51 is the primary location of the offices of full-time English Department instructors. However, some instructors keep offices in Building 50-590, located at street level down the staircase in back of Building 51. The English Writing Center and the offices of its instructors are located in Building 70 (the Tech Mall).

Expand All | Collapse All

Composition Coordinator
Composition Courses
Composition Courses
Dr. Oralee Holder
619-644-7496 | 52-564A | oralee.holder@gcccd.edu

Acorn Review Faculty Coordinator
Acorn Review
Acorn Review
Julie Cardenas
619-644-7454 x3495 | 54-511B | julie.cardenas@gcccd.edu

 

Creative Writing Program Coordinators
Creative Writing Program
Creative Writing Program
Sydney Brown
619-644-7523 | 52-564B | sydney.brown@gcccd.edu

 

Karl Sherlock

619-644-7871 | 52-558B | karl.sherlock@gcccd.edu

Community Service Learning Program Coordinator
Community Service Learning (CSL)
CSL
Cathy Miller
619-644-7865 | 52-563A | cathy.miller@gcccd.edu
Learning Skills, Reading Annex, English Writing Ctr. Coord.
Cathy Harvey
619-644-7494 | 70-216 | cathy.harvey@gcccd.edu

Literature Program Coordinator
Tony Ding
619-644-7492 | 52-559A | tony.ding@gcccd.edu
Project Success/Learning Communities Coordinator
Joan Ahrens
619-644-7869 | 52-565A | joan.ahrens@gcccd.edu 
  • GCCCD
  • Grossmont
  • Cuyamaca
A Member of the Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District