Skip to contentSkip to Main Site NavigationSkip to Site Left NavigationSkip to Site Utility NavigationSkip to Site SearchSkip to FooterDownload Adobe Reader
Creative Writing impact banner
Fall Readings Series

2009 Fall Readings Series

Lester Bangs Memorial Faculty Reading

Thursday, September 17, 2009, 7:00 - 9:00 p.m., Hyde Art Gallery
In this first of what will be an annual event, English and Creative Writing faculty read their original works of poetry, fiction and creative nonfiction. The name of the event pays homage to the life, career, and writing of Conway "Lester" Bangs, a Grossmont College graduate who became a world renown writer and music critic credited for coining the term "punk."

A Celebration of Banned Books

Thursday, October 01, 2009, 7:00 - 9:00 p.m., Griffin Gate
A provocative celebration of provocative literature, hosted by Joe Medina.


Poet Rae Armantrout

Thursday, October 15, 2009, 7:00 p.m., Griffin Gate
CSD Professor of Poetry and Poetics, internationally celebrated Language Poet Rae Armantrout reads a selection of works from her highly acclaimed books of poetry. Find out more about Rae Armantrout @


First Female Writing Contest!

DEADLINE: Monday, November 16, 2009
Co-sponsored by the La Mesa-El Cajon American Association of University Women (AAUW) and the Grossmont College English Department, this first annual writing contest is open to all young women in the Grossmont Union High School District. It is our goal to celebrate and support young women who are breaking through barriers as a “First Female.” Essay must be postmarked on or before Monday, November 16, 2009.


New Voices: A Student Reading 

Wednesday, November 18, 2009, 7:00 p.m. at Griffin Gate
The Creative Writing Program's finest students of the Fall 2009 semester take the podium. 

Last Updated: 08/19/2016
Fall 2009 1st Annual Lester Bangs Memorial Reading
2009 Banned Books reading
Fall 2009 Rae Armantrout
  Fall 2009 New Voices Student Reading
  • Grossmont
  • Cuyamaca
A Member of the Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District